top of page

2016 Downs Rugby Awards

Where you at the 2016 Downs Rugby Awards on Saturday night? What a fun night it was!

CCP was asked to be the official photographer for the evening and to be honest - I had a blast.

Qld Reds players Junior Laloifi and Lukhan Tui were on hand to have their photos taken with 140 guests at Picnic Point in Toowoomba, Qld, on Saturday August 13th. Make sure you check out some of the antics these two got up to throughout the evening. It certainly kept me entertained.

A couple of other highlights were the jersey's being auctioned off, a guest panel that discussed a little of everything including the Olympics in Rio and women in Rugby, and of course the awards.

Qld Reds players Junior Laloifi and Lukhan Tui with Dan Birrell, Qld Reds.

To show my support towards this annual event, I have included Mitch Simpson's write-up of the evening. Please take a moment to read what he had to say...

Saturday night saw clubs from across the Darling Downs arrive at Picnic Point for Downs Rugby's night of nights. The Annual Awards Night see's recognition given to the players, referees, junior and senior clubs, as well as our invaluable volunteers.

The Mal Eiby medal was given out for the third time, after the Risdon Cup Player of the Year award was given the coveted title of the Mal Eiby Medal in 2014. This year saw one of the closest races for the medal with Condamine's Roger Geldard taking out the region’s top honour. It took a best on ground performance in the last game of the season to win by 1 point over UQ Gatton’s Nick Poole.

Condamine's Roger Geldard taking out the region’s top honour, the Mal Eiby Medal for 2016.

Geldard has been a stalwart of the Cods side for a number of years and his second half of the season domination saw his 14 points come from 6 games between Round 8 and 18.

The prestigious Ken Long Award for volunteer went to St George's Bruce Shelly. After close to nine years at the club, Shelly has been involved at the Frillies in every aspect from player to committee member and his long term commitment to both the Frill necks and the sport of Rugby saw him a deserved winner of the award.

A strong 2016 performance in all senior grades saw Dalby take home the club champions trophy, including a Minor Premiership for their A Grade side.

Dalby also shared in some junior success, sharing the Junior Club of the Year award with the ever strong South Toowoomba club, who have both showed consistent growth and strength in all areas of junior Rugby.

Dalby shared the Junior Club of the Year award with the ever strong South Toowoomba club.

Dan Merker from the Dalby Wheatmen took home the Risdon Cup's top point scorers award after a stellar season in Dalby's backline.

After just being edged out for the Mal Eiby Medal, UQ Gatton's Nick Poole was awarded the top try scorer of the Risdon Cup.

The Ross Krebs Memorial trophy for the Referee of the year went to Michael Beeston after yet another great season with the whistle.

I will keep the rest of this Blog short and let the images sum up the evening.

Until next time,

Keep smiling & happy snapping!


bottom of page